





Venue: Institute of World Economics,

HUN-REN Centre for Economics and Regional Studies

4. Tóth Kálmán Street, Budapest, H-1097, Hungary

Please register here: https://forms.gle/E7EcMU3PNMgc4T6N7

Day 1 (13 June, Thursday)

10.00 – 12:00: TEPSA Board Meeting

13.30 – 15.00: **Plenary Session I:**

Opening remarks: Jim Cloos (TEPSA, Secretary-General)

Magdolna Sass (IWE HUN-REN CERS, Director)

Panel Discussion: TEPSA Recommendations

Balázs Molnár (State Secretary, Responsible for the Presidency)

Nicoletta Pirozzi (Istituto Affari Internazionali, Head of Programme on European Union and Institutional Relations Manager) online

Richard Youngs (Carnegie Europe, Senior Fellow)

15.00 – 15.30: Coffee Break

Event partners:













15.30 – 17.00: Parallel Sessions:

Session 1: Competitiveness of the EU and Member States

Gergely Baksay (Hungarian National Bank, Executive Director, Hungarian Economic Association)

Anita Pelle (Szeged University, Head of Institute of International Economics, Jean Monnet Chair)

Michele Chang (College of Europe, Director of the Transatlantic Affairs Programme)

Marco Siddi (Finnish Institute of International Affairs, Leading Researcher)

Moderator: Professor András Inotai (Prof. emeritus, Institute of World Economics, HUN-REN CERS)

Session 2: Results of the EP elections, evaluation

András Bíró-Nagy (HUN-REN CSS Institute for Political Science, Senior Research Fellow)

Ilke Toygur (IE Global Policy Center, Director)

Erik Jones (European University Institute, Robert Schuman Centre, Director)

Enikő Győri (Member of the European Parliament)

Moderator: Michael Kaeding (University of Duisburg-Essen, Professor)

17.15: General Assembly (Delegates only)

19.00: Dinner (Delegates and Presenters only)













Day 2 (14 June, Friday)

9.00-10.30 Parallel Sessions

Session 3: The Future of the EU's Enlargement Policy

Anna Orosz (Hungarian Institute for International Affairs, Research Director)

Danijela Jacimovic (University of Montenegro, Professor)

Karlis Bukovskis (Latvian Institute of International Affairs, Director)

Yuriy Yakymenko (Razumkov Centre, President) online

Moderator: Funda Tekin (Institut für Europäische Politik, Director)

Session 4: Migration, demography

Vera Messing (Centre for Social Sciences, Sociology Institute, Director)

Jean-Louis de Brouwer (Egmont Institute, Director)

Eugenia Kopsidi (European Law & Governance School, Resident Lecturer)

Giorgi Khishtovani (Research Director at PMC Research Center)

Moderator: Jaap de Zwaan (TEPSA, Honorary Board Member, Erasmus University Rotterdam)

10.30 – 10.45: Coffee Break

10.45 – 12.15: Parallel Sessions:

Session 5: 20 Years in the EU

Petr Kratochvíl (Institute for International Relations Prague, Full Professor)

Boštjan Udovič (Centre of International Relations, University of Ljubljana, Deputy Head)

Lucia Mokra (TEPSA, Chairperson of the Board; Comenius University in Bratislava, Dean)

Éva Palócz (Kopint Tárki Institute, General Director; Hungarian Economic Association, Vice-President)

Moderator: Boglárka Koller (Ludovika University of Public Service, Jean Monnet Chair, Head of Dept for European Studies)















Session 6: Convergence, EU-finance and budget, development

István Benczes (Institute for World Economics HUN-REN CERS, Corvinus University, Professor)

Louise van Schaik (Clingendael Institute, Head of Unit EU & Glopbal Affairs)

Ákos Kengyel (Corvinus University, Jean Monnet Chair, Professor)

Moderator: Zsolt Becsey (former Member of the European Parliament; Ministry for National Economy State Secretary, Hungarian Economic Association)

12.15 – 12.30: Coffee break

12.30 – 13.45: Plenary Session II: Geopolitical challenges, security of the EU

Anna Molnár (Ludovika University of Public Service, Head of Department International Security Studies)

Magdalena Góra (Institute of European Studies, Jagiellonian University, Associate Professor)

Luigi Scazzieri (Centre for European Reform, Senior Research Fellow)

Gunilla Herolf (Swedish Institute of International Affairs, Senior Associate Research Fellow)

Moderator: Pernille Rieker (Norwegian Institute of International Affairs, Research Professor)

13.45 – 14.00: Concluding remarks: Lucia Mokra, TEPSA, Chairperson of the Board

14.00: Sandwich Lunch

Recommendation of future events:

https://vgi.krtk.hu/en/call-for-papers-svoc-conference/

https://civilpresidency.hu/

"20 years in the EU" series of IWE: https://vgi.krtk.hu/kategoria/publikaciok/working-papers/

Event partners:







